review post

A book that’s under 150 pages

Warning: This review will contain spoilers

No Ordinary Star by M.C. Frank

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Summary: In the year 2524, a young soldier named Felix travels to the Arctic at the call of a man, now dead, who claims to be his grandfather, only babies are born in tubes now and men and women are not allowed to interact with each other living in separate communities. As he is trying to uncover what the man (known as the Clockmaster) was talking about and what he wants from Felix he saves a young woman from drowning I the ice. Felix begins to discover that there is much he does not know.

Reasons for picking this book: I’ve needed to pick a book under 150 pages for a long while, but hadn’t found any I wanted to read (that I hadn’t read before). I saw that M.C. Frank was offering another ARC book and I jumped at the chance. I loved the first book that I read and wanted to read what else she wrote. Also this book is 150 pages but it’s not over so I’m counting it, fight me

Review: I received an ARC of this book for review, thank you M.C. Frank for giving me this opportunity again.

I liked this book a lot. I thought the world building here was very well done. It was really interesting to read about this imagined future where things are so drastically different. I liked the concept of people taking pills instead of eating or sleeping. I mean, we find out those are essentially brainwashing people but the technology is still interesting.

The two main characters, Astra and Felix refer to each other as “match girl” and “tin soldier”. I noticed immediately these are both Hans Christian Anderson stories and I was really tickled by this reference. Then at the end they’re reading “The Steadfast Soldier” and I was pretty excited by that.

In this future most of their history is forgotten, in an attempt to control people. I enjoyed watching these two characters, mainly Felix, interact with things in confusion and wonder that we wouldn’t think twice about. At one point he hears music for the first time and thinks its weapons discharging. That moment really stuck with me, because– how would you react if you never heard music?

I enjoyed this first book in the series and I’m eager to read the other two. I hope to learn more about Felix and Astra but also about what the Clockmaster wanted of Felix. My biggest question I hope gets explained is about Ursa the polar bear that found and befriended Astra. I want to know more about that bear, where did it come from? Why is it friendly? I don’t know, I just found Ursa super interesting.

Recommendation: This is a young adult science fiction, but it’s not one of those difficult to handle science fictions, if you know what I mean. I think it’s easily accessible to any reader.

Up next: Once Upon A Time: Shadow of the Queen – A graphic novel

Leave a Reply

