review post

A book written by a celebrity

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Summary: A memoir framed in a series of essays, Mindy Kaling writes about a myriad of topics from how slow men put shoes on to her time working as a writer on The Office.

Reasons behind picking this book: I love Mindy Kaling and I’ve been wanting to read this for a while, my main hesitation was that I’m not a fan of nonfiction.

Review: I’m such a big fan of Mindy Kaling. She’s pretty, wears cute clothes, is incredibly funny and a talented actress and writer. She’s always seemed like the kind of person I’d want to be close friends with and this book cemented that belief.

Her book was an easy read because it flowed like a conversation. I’m not a fan of nonfiction but I was hooked into this book. I could hear her voice speaking every word in the book which was very impressive to me, usually I can imagine bits in the voice of the author but every part of this I could imagine.

It’s witty and fun, full of lots of great stories. It’s nice to read of someone in Hollywood not being extremely glamorous all the time. Also, the fact that in 2011 she called the all female ghostbusters movie makes me happy (although now I wish she was working on that project).

I found myself agreeing with her so much. Like, yes, thank you– men shaving their chest hair grosses me out too and celebrity roasts are never funny. I thought it was written well and I devoured this book in less than twenty-four hours. I laughed out loud several times and smiled nearly the entire read.

Recommendation: If you’re a fan of Mindy Kaling this is well worth the read, or if you’re a fan of The Office, or if you’ve never heard of either. I just really loved this book.

Up next: Gone Girl – the first book you see in a bookstore

Leave a Reply

