review post

The first book you see in a bookstore

Warning: This review will contain spoilers

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Summary: On their fifth wedding anniversary Amy Dunne goes missing, her husband Nick is the prime suspect. Nick begins to believe his wife set him up after learning that he was cheating on her.

Reason for picking this book: I walked into my home town’s library and checked out the small room they have for selling used books. The first book I spotted was Gone Girl, which I’d been meaning to read anyways.

Review: I’m always happy when things live up to their hype. I’d heard about this book for a while but I never got the chance to read before now. It was exciting and really good, lots of good use of the unreliable narrators, Amy’s diary and Nick overall.

I really did not like Nick. I feel like we’re supposed to really dislike Amy but I liked her. She at least was honest to herself about who she was. Nick was always trying to convince himself he was a better person than he really was. And living that lie too. It annoyed the crap out of me. He thought himself to be a “good man” but he really wasn’t. So yeah, I liked Amy even though she’s a sociopath, she’s at least honest about it to herself.

I thought the writing was good, I liked the shift in perspective and the use of Amy’s fake diary in the first part. I think how Flynn slowly gave use information and the truth about Amy’s disappearance and everything leading up to that day.

The ending was… A little unfulfilling. I think it makes sense but it isn’t as exciting as I would have hoped with all the action leading up to it. Amy trapping Nick with a pregnancy, it works don’t get me wrong but it didn’t satisfy me as a reader. I’m not sure what would have though so I suppose that I need to just be happy with this ending.

I don’t read a lot of this genre, but I watch a lot of crime tv and I thought the twist that Amy set Nick up was ingenious. I thought it was really original and smart how it was set up. I loved how smart Amy was and how patient she was to set this up right. The writing was strong and kept me engaged.

Recommendation: If you don’t like reading violent scenes I don’t think this would be a book for you, it’s fairly violent throughout. If you’re a fan of thrillers and crime stories I think it’s a good choice.

Up next: Cinder – a book based on a fairy tale

Leave a Reply

