review post

A book based on a fairy tale

Warning: This review will contain spoilers

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Summary: Cinder is a cyborg living in New Beijing, she is a skilled mechanic who lives with her stepmother and two stepsisters. While working in the marketplace she’s surprised to meet the crown Prince Kaito who is looking for her to fix his android. Cinder soon becomes involved in testing for an antidote for a plague.

Reasons for picking this book: I got this book for Christmas, I’d heard a bit about it and wanted to check it out because I really like fairy tale retellings.

Review: This is how you do a retelling of a fairytale. This book was just so great. It had its own story and subplots but still stayed true to the story of Cinderella. Meyer made this story her own in the best way possible. Such as the cyborg foot that Cinder loses instead of a slipper and the orange car she drives to the ball. The book is so rich with the world building she has done here. It’s really impressive and I really felt immersed in this world.

I really liked the character of Cinder, I thought she was easy to relate to and a very interesting character. I liked how Meyer wrote about her Retina display and everything it was able to show her. I thought having her brain hooked up to a processor that could control and regulate her body was really interesting and presented well. Aside from how she was described, I also liked the character herself and what motivated her. I liked that she had a strong bond with her sister Peony, I don’t know I’m such a sucker for one of the stepsisters being nice in Cinderella stories.

I was surprised with myself that I didn’t cry when Peony died, I guess after Bowie’s death I’m just a stone cold bitch. Nah, I think I was just surprised she was dead and kept expecting her to not be. I was so sure it was a trick.

I did see the surprise that she was the missing Lunar princess coming. Pretty much as soon as Princess Selene was mentioned. But it didn’t feel contrived, more like… How you know fairy tales have happy endings. Although, this ending was hopeful it wasn’t exactly happily ever after. Which worked too I think. I know there are more books to the series, of course so I’m willing to bet there will be happy endings eventually.

It’s a bit weird but I really loved the font used in this book. It was really pretty and nice to read, if that makes sense? I don’t usually notice fonts but this one was striking.

image
#aesthetic

I really want to read the rest of this series now, I am eager to read more about this world. I’m definitely adding all the other books in this series to my to be read list.

Recommendation: Everyone read this. Do it.

Up next: Six of Crows – a YA bestseller

Leave a Reply

