review post

A romance set in the future

Warning: This review will contain spoilers.

Across the Universe by Beth Revis

Star rating: ★★★ ☆☆ 3/5 stars

Summary: Amy, a seventeen year old girl, signs up with her parents to be cryogenically frozen to populate a new planet, the trip is to take three hundred years. She wakes up fifty years early on the ship, woken by someone trying to kill other frozen people. She finds the ship is under the rule of a tyrant called Eldest and he controls the ship by lies. She befriends his heir Elder and tries to solve the mystery of who is unfreezing people and killing them.

Reasons for picking this book: I couldn’t think of any romances set in the future so I googled for a list and picked one that seemed the most interesting.

Review: The style of this book really grated on me. There are two POVs that the book switches between, usually I’m a fan, but this was done in first person and present tense. I hate nothing more than reading a book that is in present tense. It throws me off so badly, I just don’t find it easy to read at all. And then with both perspectives being in first person it got confusing at times to remember whose perspective I was reading since they both went by ‘I’.

Another thing that was confusing was that there were two characters with very similar names. Elder and Eldest, whose names are actually titles, were easy to mix up, in fact Revis actually writes Eldest when she actually meant Elder since Eldest wasn’t in the scene at all.

image

The story was interesting for the most part, there was a lot of mystery to keep the reader’s interest. One part I did dislike as far as the story were all the many chapters in Amy’s perspective while she was frozen. I just, did not see the point with that. It was really boring and I hated those chapters.

I was really grateful Revis didn’t write out Elder’s accent all the time, because that would have made me even more insane. But she only did that for a few times so I didn’t mind too much.

I saw from the beginning the twist of Orion being the “dead” Elder. It was pretty obvious and at the reveal it just felt like “yeah, duh– finally”. I mean, I don’t know how you could have done that twist without it have being obvious.

I wish that Revis would have either left the threat of Luthe out of the book or kept him in. After he attempts to rape Amy he disappears from the book, making it obvious that his only purpose was for attacking Amy. If he was obsessed with her why did he just disappear? I don’t think that made sense.

Recommendation: If two first person perspectives in present tense don’t bother you then I would say the book wouldn’t be a bad choice. It is an interesting story but the style was just too much.

Up next: Water for Elephants -A book about a road trip

Leave a Reply

