review post

A book written by a comedian

“When you are pregnant you can get away with a lot of shit. Women really are at their most dangerous during this time. Your hormones are telling you that you are strong and sexy, everyone is scared of you, and you have a built-in sidekick who might come out at any minute. There should be some kind of pregnancy superhero movie. Calling Hollywood now. What’s that, Hollywood? It’s a weird idea and also you don’t do movies with female superheroes? Copy that.”

Yes Please by Amy Poehler

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Summary: Yes Please, is a memoir by Amy Poehler, it covers a lot of. Her life and her career and also a lot of her trying to give advice to the reader.

Reasons for picking this book: I think Amy Poehler is funny and I enjoy a lot of her work, I was curious to see what her book was like so I borrowed my sister’s copy.

Review: For the most part Yes Please is enjoyable. It’s got a lot of charm, there’s a lot of fun stories in it. I ended up watching a lot of SNL sketches that were mentioned in the book to place the stories better which was pretty fun.

One thing Poehler mentions constantly in her book is how hard it is to write a book. I didn’t mind it in the foreword but constantly bringing it up throughout the whole book wasn’t funny to me it was obnoxious. I think she intended it to be a running joke in her book but it fell flat for me. I just kept thinking that if its so hard why not just stop? I know it is a difficult process but I don’t want to hear about it while reading a book that isn’t about writing itself.

I liked a lot of the childhood stories Poehler shared, I like hearing about people as kids. Kid stories are great because kids do crazy shit and then you get to think about the person that they became.

One thing I really didn’t like was in her chapter about drugs she was talking about the ones she hasn’t tried and alongside meth and heroine Poehler includes antidepressants. This kind of made me upset that she put it on the same level basically? Antidepressants aren’t a recreational drug! I and many other people need them to function as actual human beings. I don’t know if she was trying to do some tongue in cheek thing but it just rubbed me really wrong. Especially when she was saying she had postpartum depression but didn’t use antidepressants like congrats? I hate when people act like they’re superior because they don’t use any medication for mental illness.

A lot of the book was good, mostly stories about Poehler’s journey as a comedian. It was entertaining but not much to say beyond that.

Recommendation: Pretty fun book, probably not going to be interesting to anyone that isn’t an Amy Poehler fan.

Up next: Less Than Charming – a book that is published in 2016

Leave a Reply

