review post

Yureka Books Review

Another non-book review post from me? What is the world coming to? Well it is a review post and I’m currently reading one of the tougher books I’ve got in my TBR. Hopefully I finish it this month. But you’ll hear about that eventually– on to the topic at hand!

In August I decided that I wanted to buy a book subscription box for my birthday. I started looking into a bunch of different ones, looking at price, contents and selection process for the boxes. I narrowed it down to a few but I was still undecided for half the month. During August I became more active in the bookstagram And saw another bookstagram account (@bookstorefinds) post about Yureka Books. Intrigued, I looked into the website.

I was immediately excited by the description of the selection process for the boxes, not every box is the same and each is picked specifically for you. It’s pretty ingenious how they pick out books.

When I signed up I had to fill out a questionnaire about my book preferences, rating different genres, listing my favorite book, my least favorite book, and even gave an option to link my Goodreads account. I thought it was great how much is asked in the survey, I felt like they we getting a good amount of information to try to make a good pick for boxes.

A little after the payment for my first month came out I was sent an email giving me the option to see a sneak peek at the September books. I was able to fill out which books of the options that I preferred and which I did not want/own. This is completely optional so if you want to be 100% surprised then you can just ignore the link and wait for your box. I REALLY like this option because the one thing I was worried about for going up for a subscription service was getting something I wouldn’t like or already own yet I still wanted a surprise rather than picking a selection such as with Book of the Month Club.

My box arrived in the exact projected time in my confirmation email. Opening the package was very exciting for me, I couldn’t wait to see what books I’d been sent. The books were wrapped in tissue paper and ached to the front was a magnetic bookmark, three book plates and a letter from the CEO describing the books that I was sent.

The package I signed up for was for either three paperbacks or one paperback and one hardcover. I went with the three paperbacks option, however surprisingly one of my three books this month ended up being a hardcover. That was a really nice surprise.

image

The hardcover was the only book I’d heard of before, A School For Unusual Girls. It’s a YA Historical Fiction and one I’d already put on my TBR list. From the description it sounds like it will be a lot of fun, it has a girls school and spies so I can’t wait to see what it’s like.

image

The next book in my package was The Shadow Society, it’s a YA urban paranormal fantasy. It sounds really interesting, I have been wanting to read more paranormal novels so I’m pretty excited to read this.

image

Then the last book, The Cage, is a YA Distopian/sci-fi novel. The protagonist is a feature in an alien zoo for the human exhibit and apparently there is a romance between her and her alien guard. I don’t think I would have picked this book up on my own but it sounds pretty cool and I’m eager to read it.

image

Overall I am so happy with my box, all of these books are ones I will read and very likely enjoy! And the personalization of the boxes doesn’t end here. After receiving my box I have the option to go and rate how happy I am with my book selections both before and after I read them which further helps with the selection process for my future boxes.

Honestly I think this is the most personalized subscription service for books out there, or at least that I have seen.

I would rate yurekabooks.com: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

If you want to sign up for the subscription service yourself, I have a code you can use for 10% off your first month. Use referral code: BECKYMCMANNIS

Leave a Reply

