review post

A political memoir

“A man cannot walk from one end of the chamber to the other without hearing talk of vampires! Never have I heard the subject so often discussed, and by so many! These long years I have thought myself privy to some dark secret–a secret I have kept hidden from my wife and kin. Yet here, in the halls of power, it is the secret everyone seems to know.”

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith

Star rating: ★★ ☆☆ ☆ 2/5

Summary: Using supposed secret diaries of Abraham Lincoln, Seth Grahame-Smith writes about Lincoln’s career as a vampire hunter. It’s a pseudo-historical book with a horror twist.

Reasons for picking this book: I was not about to read an actual nonfiction book about politics. I don’t like nonfiction and as a whole politics is fairly boring so I really stretched this category. Fight me.

Review: Man I know that this is satire but it was just ridiculous to me. Not a fun ridiculous (like the movie) but just why am I even trying to get through this ridiculousness?

I had a hard time with the way is book is written, it’s trying to act as a historical biography and a novel at the same time. It was hard for me to read. For the most part he tried to use more serious language but there was some word choices that just broke whatever Grahame-Smith was trying to go for. At one point he writes that Abraham’s father only built a fire outside when he “got plastered”. That word choice just felt so out of place in the book.

Overall the book was kind of boring, it was too distanced from the characters for me to feel connected to them. The vampire element did not really make it exciting, there was a threat but everything was so removed so again– didn’t feel there was a threat as a reader.

I felt making Abraham Lincoln turned into a vampire at the end to be really cheap. It was just… He spent his whole life fighting vampires only to be turned into one? What the hell even. It basically tore apart the whole rest of the book.

Recommendation: Watch the movie, it’s campy and fun in its ridiculousness. Skip the book it’s not worth it.

Up next: Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon, Vol 1 – A book translated to English

Leave a Reply

