review post

A book with a blue cover

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey Coulthurst

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Summary: Princess Dennaleia arrives in the kingdom of Mynaria to meet her betrothed, the crown Prince Thandilimon. She meets his older sister Amaranthine, when she needs riding lessons for her upcoming wedding. Amid political turmoil the two princesses work together and begin to develop feelings for each other.

Reasons for picking this book: I’d been wanting to read some f/f LGBT+ novels and heard about this one. I entered a giveaway on goodreads and was happy to win this book. I immediately knew I wanted to read it asap and since it had a blue cover it fit right in on my challenge!

Review: First I want to be sure to state that I won an ARC of this book from a goodreads giveaway.

I really loved the romance in this book, it is technically a love triangle but it was such a unique twist on it that it didn’t even bother me. There were several moments where I legit clutched my chest because it was so beautiful. I loved the slow burn of the romance between Denna and Mare. I thought that was so very well done.

I did feel like most of the side characters didn’t have much of a personality. Like I didn’t really know who Thandilimon was as a person at all really, the same with Denna’s close friend Ellaeni. No real understanding of these characters but that being said– I didn’t really mind that much because I was wrapped up more in Mare and Denna.

I thought naming the Princess that worked closely with horses “Mare” was slightly cheesy. I get wanting a character name to mean something but it was a little too on the nose. Well more like a bright neon sign pointing to the nose. It took me a while to just accept that was her name and enjoy the character.

I really liked how it didn’t seem taboo at all for anyone to be in a same sex relationship in this world. I liked that that wasn’t an issue at all which made it easier to get to the heart of the story, although I feel like the outlawing of magic and magic users was a metaphor for that.

I feel like there was room left for a sequel but it is tied up nicely enough at the end that I would feel okay with how it ended if it didn’t. I couldn’t really find a definitive answer if it was a stand alone or not.

I can’t say enough how amazing the romance in this book was. It was much better than a lot of ones I’ve read before, much more engaging and heartwarming. I really liked this book and the story.

Recommendation: This book releases in November, if you’re interested in LGBT princesses with magic powers then this is definitely a book you should preorder.

Up next: The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet – a book that takes place during Summer

Leave a Reply

