review post

A classic from the 20th century

“I believe that on the first night I went to Gatsby’s house I was one of the few guests who had actually been invited. People were not invited– they went there. They got into automobiles which bore them out to Long Island, and somehow they ended up at Gatsby’s door.”

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Star rating: ★★★ ☆☆ 3/5 stars

Summary: Nick Carraway moves to Long Island and quickly becomes entangled in the romantic affair of his married cousin Daisy and his neighbor Jay Gatsby.

Reasons for picking this book: I’ve never read this book and I’ve always meant to.

Review: This is one of those books “everyone” read in high school except me. I’ve always been curious of this book and I’d send the movie with DiCaprio. After reading this I almost feel this story works way better as a movie than a book. I felt like the book was very short and didn’t go into a whole lot, especially when the main action occurs.

It’s well written, I can see why it’s a sort of go to for English classes but at the same time it left a lot to be desired for me. I wanted more and I got a short book with a lot glossed over.

I felt Nick was a weird guy, I never was sure how he felt about anyone or situations. When he starts dating Jordan Baker I was just like, wait did he like her? And I was never sure if he disliked or liked Gatsby, it was so weird. Also I felt he was sort of in love with Daisy herself, he’s always describing how beautiful she is in every given situation. Which is weird too for me because when Tom introduces Nick to his mistress he doesn’t have a real reaction either way and he never seems to think about Daisy’s feelings on the whole thing.

I don’t know, maybe I spoiled myself by watching the movie years earlier but it just didn’t do it for me. I was constantly waiting for it to get exciting and it didn’t. It wasn’t particularly difficult to read though so I suppose that’s a good thing.

I get the appeal and why it’s considered a classic and such but it’s really not for me. I just didn’t feel a connection to it at all.

AND CAN WE TALK ABOUT THE WEIRD SCENE WHERE TOM IS GOING ON ABOUT WHITE SUPREMACY?? What is that about?? Why isn’t it touched on really again? Why do we not really know if Nick agrees or not? Why mention it at all? I didn’t understand and it was just so bizarre. And gross.

Recommendation: I guess read this when you have a class it’s required for.

Leave a Reply

