review post

Three Dark Crowns review

“Temple doctrine decrees that queens have no mother or father. They are daughters of the Goddess only.”

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: Hardcover book

Summary: Triplet sisters Mirabella, Arsinoe and Katharine have been raised to be queen. Only one of them can claim the throne and they must do so by murdering their other sisters.

Review: I’m so excited that the theory I had at the very beginning of the book came true! That almost never happens to me. Usually it’s my husband that throws out theories and I think there is no way that can happen and then it does.

Anyways, this books was so good! I loved how dark it is, I loved the characters, the setting and even the politics! The world Blake has created is endlessly fascinating. I love the concept of how magic works, though I’m not completely sold on poisoners being such a gift. I don’t know I mean it’s kinda cool you can eat poison but on the other hand like who cares? I don’t know it’s not as impressive to me that’s for sure.

I liked that this is in some ways a gender swap of Neil Gaiman’s Stardust. I love that the island of Fennbirn is a matriarchal society. I thought the world building was well done. I kind of hoped at the beginning that these queens would be the ones to stop this tradition of murder for the throne but now at I’ve finished I don’t think that will happen.

I really want to know what Pietyr was thinking at the end. I hope that is addressed in the next book because I just have to know. I thought all the romance was great and even though here is a love triangle I didn’t even mind. I thought it worked.

I can’t wait for the next book and I really enjoyed reading this, I feel like I read it pretty fast. So yay to my first book of 2017!

Recommendation: If you like dark fantasy this is probably up your alley, it’s pretty violent so if that isn’t your thing I would skip it.

2 thoughts on “Three Dark Crowns review

  1. I love you review of this. A very solid point that this is definitely different in being a matriarchal society. I had not originally even let that sink in. The book is fantastic. I so happy to see it finally getting more love.

    I think a lot of readers felt it was too slow, but I thought the author did a fantastic job of building the worlds and creating an opening for what looks to be a very promising series 🙂 Again, great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

