review post

The Blazing Star review

The Blazing Star by Imani Josey

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Portia has always felt like she is in the shadow of her twin sister Alex’s genius. After Alex wins an academic award she has long sought after and Portia feels left in the dust. A trip to the museum and a chance encounter with an ancient Egyptian artifact hurtles Alex, Portia and a freshman named Selene into Ancient Egypt.

Review: I received a galley from NetGalley for an honest review.

The first thing that grabbed me about this book was the beautiful cover. I’d actually voted for this cover in a poll Goodreads had about prettiest covers before I received a galley of this book. I didn’t know a whole lot going into this book besides thinking the cover was pretty.

This book did not disappoint! It’s a great time travel, magical realism book. I had a little difficulty getting into the book at first but after a few chapters I was hooked. I love Portia, she’s a great character although my favorite character is Prince Seti. Like damn, he and Portia had amazing chemistry from the beginning and I loved every scene with them together. I was a little torn because I didn’t want Portia doing anything with him behind Princess Tuya’s back but on the other hand I was just screaming YOU GO MAKE OUT WITH THAT HOT EGYPTIAN PRINCE!

The relationships are great in this book, although I’m still a little bit confused about how the three girls are actually sisters and originally from Egypt. I feel like I need more background on that to fully understand. I loved that even though Portia has a thing for Seti there was no rivalry between her and Tuya. In fact, Portia tries to save Tuya’s life and Tuya also helped Portia to escape the palace and covered for her several times when anyone questioned her. GIRLS HELPING GIRLS, that’s the shit I love. There is a rivalry between Portia and Alex but it is sibling based not feeling threatened by another girl. I can get behind that.

I’ll admit that I never went through an Egyptian phase like most of my friends, in fact I can’t really go into Egyptian exhibits in museums because mummies really freak me out. So I wasn’t sure how much I would like a book set in ancient Egypt but I actually really liked it. I thought it was a really fun read, I kept picking the book up because it was so addictive.

The only thing I didn’t really like was Portia calling her dad by his first name. There’s no real reason for her to do this. It really threw me because she would sometimes call him dad and sometimes by his first name and there seemed no rhyme or reason.

Other than that I don’t really have any complaints. I really hope that there will be a sequel. I need to see what happens next to Portia and her sisters. I looked everywhere I could online and couldn’t find anything about a possible sequel. I hope that it doesn’t just end like this because that would be disappointing.

Also kudos to the author for being the only time travel book I’ve read that doesn’t focus on rape. In fact, it doesn’t even come up. So refreshing!

Recommendation: This is a great time travel book, a fun YA book. If you’re into ancient Egypt this is a book that you should check out!

Leave a Reply

