review post

The Shadow Society review

“I used to think that at least I could rely on myself. That I was strong. Now I felt like someone with no control. Someone who fell out of trees. Who heard one word and was so paralyzed that she had to rely on the help of someone she hated.”

The Shadow Society by Marie Rutkoski

Star rating: ★★ ☆☆ ☆ 2/5

Format: paperback book

Summary: Darcy Jones has no memory of her life before she was found at five years old outside of a fire station. She finds out that she is really from an alternate dimension where the Great Chicago Fire never happened and that she isn’t even human but a shade. She gets caught up in a struggle between humans and shades in her home dimension.

Review: I had to force myself to pick this book up, I Just couldn’t get into it at all. There were several things that kept me from enjoying this book. The chapters often end in the middle of a conversation or action to pick back up in the next chapter. Almost like commercial breaks on tv. It was so frustrating, because like MOST people I use a new chapter to pause or stop reading to pick it back up later but I couldn’t do that when a chapter stops mid-conversation. I don’t understand why you would do that, it makes absolutely no sense to me unless you just like frustrating readers.

Another thing I didn’t like was the first part of the book read like just normal boring high school bs. It was hard from the beginning to connect with the characters and it never got easier. I just didn’t care. I can’t pinpoint what exactly I don’t like about them either which irritates me.

It felt like the story was forced somehow, things didn’t seem to flow but everything seemed to be forced into place for a Happy Ending™. I hated Darcy and Conn’s relationship, it too felt forced but also boring. I just couldn’t get myself interested in them or their relationship drama. The one character I did start to like was Orion who turned out to just be nice to try to sleep with Darcy (this also felt forced). But either way me having one character that I liked ended quickly.

One thing that never made sense is that it’s often said that shades are invulnerable but it was often shown not to be the case. So I don’t understand how they are supposed to be. I saw them cut and bones broken, it wasn’t just fire that could hurt them so I really don’t understand.

This book was a real miss for me. I didn’t like to story, the characters or really anything. I gave it a two because there were a few moments that were good but not enough to save the book.

Recommendation: I’m not going to recommend this to anyone. Maybe if you want a different paranormal romance but I wasn’t a fan.

Leave a Reply

