review post

A Court of Mist and Fury review

“No one was my master–but I might be master of everything, if I wished. If I dared.”

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: hardcover book

Summary: Feyre returns after being newly Made into a High Fae. She tries to settle back into life with Tamlin but feels restless after everything she had to endure Under the Mountain. On her wedding day, as she starts to panic on her way down the aisle, Rhysand appears to cash in the bargain she struck with him for her life– that she spend a week out of every month with him.

image
I marked so many passages.

Review: Wow, I was really impressed by this whole book. I know there has been a lot of hype over this book and I think it’s warranted. I thought it handled a lot of things well and I liked the overall story.

I liked how Maas handled Tamlin’s abusive behavior, how she managed to make the reader feel just as tricked by him at first as Feyre. That was just so masterfully done. I know I’d seen posts about people disliking him before reading this and I was always like “but Tamlin is great”. Then as I read this I started to connect the dots and realize that she laid the groundwork so well in the first book. And Feyre rationalizing everything he did was just so on point for an abuse victim. How she kept defending him long after she shouldn’t have and how it took her a while to realize he’d been treating her wrong from the very beginning.

Her PTSD was handled well too, I thought. And I like that her struggle took a long while and while she is better she isn’t suddenly cured of it. God though while she was with Tamlin I kept thinking “gurl you in danger”. He didn’t offer her any help when she needed it. He just needed her to be what he wanted. Whereas Rhys was right away just like “tell me how to help you”. He didn’t ignore her. God, she was literally wasting away and Tamlin is just like, eh you can plan a party? Only not really because you can’t even pick out your own wedding dress. I mean, it was so bad that Alis was practically begging Mor to take Feyre away when she showed up.

I’m so mad at Lucian for not standing up for her. I still love him but he majorly failed her as a friend. He also didn’t stop Tamlin from creating the stupidest bargain ever. I mean what an idiot! He had zero thoughts about the consequences of letting Hybern’s forces through his court. He doesn’t care about what war will do, he doesn’t care that those forces will go straight towards Feyre’s family. He just wants what he views as his possession.

I loved the slow build of Rhys and Feyre. I’m so embarrassed I shipped Feyre and Tamlin at all. But I think that really proves how great the whole setup was.

I thought the writing was really beautiful. I am so excited to see what the next book brings. There is so much exciting stuff going on and the action was really well balanced with the romance. It was long but it didn’t feel very long, it was easy to read and so very hard for me to put down. I stayed up way too late many nights reading this.

I love that we got to see so much more of the world and the different fae. I thought it was very complex and I loved it so much. I came out with so many different ships. I ship Cassian/Nesta but I would also really enjoy a poly relationship between Cassian/Mor/Azriel.

Recommendation: If you liked A Court of Thorns and Roses then I think you’ll really enjoy this sequel.

7 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury review

Leave a Reply

