review post

The Search for Aveline review

The Search for Aveline by Stephanie Rabig and Angie Bee

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: A series of vignettes about the crew of The Sappho, captained by Captain Harriet “Harry” Roberts, the ship searches for her lost sister Aveline.

Review: I received an advanced galley copy of this book for review via NetGalley.

This book is epically diverse. There are so many different characters with different races, religions, sexualities, disabilities, etc. The name of the ship made me excited from the beginning, The Sappho?, I knew we were in store for some good shit.

The story is told through a series of non-linear vignettes. I’m torn on how I feel about this style. On one hand, it was different and really well written but on the other it sometimes made it difficult to follow. We would see characters together and then the story of when they started giving into their feelings would come after which was not satisfying. Still, I do like the characters and the stories was something fresh from what I’ve read before.

I would be interested to read more of this world, there was a lot of great stuff. Mermaids, sirens, fae, and more. I was confused about what time period this was supposed to be because one character makes reference to Darwin but that’s long after the golden age of piracy. I mean, obviously this is fantasy but it was so strange.

It’s super fun to read, there are a lot of great moments in here. The only reason I took away one star is because the short stories style is strange enough I think it kept me from fully getting immersed into the world of the book.

Recommendation: This is a fun book that I think fans of pirates and fantasy would enjoy. It’s a female heavy in characters which is amazing.

Leave a Reply

