review post

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World review

The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl: Squirrel Meets World by Shannon Hale and Dean Hale

Star rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Doreen Green (over five feet tall and not an inch mean) moves to New Jersey from California. She is fourteen, previously homeschooled and she was born with a squirrel tail. In her attempt to meet new people and make friends in her new home Doreen keeps running into people (and squirrels) that need help. She soon embraces her secret alter ego Squirrel Girl to protect her new home.

Review: I received a free galley copy for review from NetGalley.

This book is written as middle-grade level but I still immensely enjoyed it. It’s super fun and Doreen is the absolute cutest ever. I honestly haven’t read many comics with Squirrel Girl so I was happy to read this book and be more introduced to her character.

The book is well written, I sometimes feel like middle grade is very much dumbed down I even felt that way when it was my reading level. But I didn’t feel like that here. I feel is the target audience was a little older that perhaps it could have been made a bit more complex but it was still great and didn’t suffer at all because of the target age group.

There is a lot of great humor in here. I love the way the squirrels talk, their dialect is great. I love that the only first person POV is for Tippy-Toe, Squirrel Girl’s best squirrel friend. All the squirrels have great names, I love them all. There are some great nods to other parts of the marvel universe in here. One of my favorites was a squirrel being named Varr-Noh (like a reverse of my favorite Kree boy Noh-Varr).

There are some interactions with Avengers but they don’t steal the focus off Doreen, but they are still super fun. I love when Doreen is blind texting Avengers (from numbers Tippy-Toe snuck out of the Avengers mansion for her) she gets a hold of Tony Stark at one point and she apologizes and says that she was looking for a hero or someone smart. I can’t help but love her for that, I’m not a huge Iron Man fan and I love when he is put in his place.

Doreen’s (human) best friend, Ana Sofía, is deaf and Doreen immediately catches on when she first meets her and shifts to ASL to try to talk to her. It was so great. I was super happy to see diversity in this book, a lot of characters in this are also not white which is great.

Recommendations: If you like Marvel or superheroes you should read this. Squirrel Girl is such a fun and not as well known as she should be. This book is a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

