review post

Vinegar Girl review

“It always amazed her to see how ignorant her father was about normal everyday life. The man existed in a vacuum. Their housekeeper used to say it was because he was so smart.”

Vinegar Girl by Anne Taylor

Star rating: ★★ ☆☆ ☆ 2/5

Format: library ebook

Summary: In this retelling of The Taming of a Shrew, Kate is asked by her father to marry his assistant so that he can get his green card.

Review: This book was so lackluster. I kept expecting, something– anything, to happen, but it never did. Kate was the most passive character I’ve ever seen in a book. She just sat there and let everything happen. The book ends on her going on a rant about how tough men have it when her sister rightly calls the whole thing out as a farse. Her sister summed up all my feelings on Kate, Pyoter and their wedding.

I don’t like this book. I didn’t see any romance, Pyoter is off putting and so is Kate. Not because she’s a “shrew”, which I honestly don’t think she was, but because of her passivity. She just lets everyone run her life. I don’t get the home life at all, they eat the exact same mush for dinner every day? No wonder Bunny decides to be a vegetarian, to get some sort of variety I would too.

I didn’t feel like there was any development, or a turning point where they seemed to be ,ore into each other. It was just so flat. At the end we are supposed to believe she wants to be married to him yet she was still worried about her image with her crush at work? I just– none of it made sense.

I’m glad that it was a quick read otherwise I would have DNF it. It was just so boring, a whole lot of nothing happened. There wasn’t any conflict or tension it was just so boring. I was seriously disappointed because I’ve been wanting to read this book for a while now. I’m just glad I borrowed it and didn’t waste any money buying this book.

Recommendation: If you want a Taming of a Shrew retelling just watch 10 Things I Hate About You and call it good. Skip this one.

Leave a Reply

