review post

As Red As Blood review

“Hometown pride wasn’t in her vocabulary, but there were probably worse things in the world than liking where you lived. Maybe this neighborhood could become her home. Maybe she could start thinking of these streets as her own. Maybe that had already started to happen, even though Lumikki didn’t consciously want to get too attached to any one place.”

As Red As Blood by Salla Simukka

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: hardcover book

Summary: Lumikki walks into her school’s dark room to discover money drying inside, and evidence that blood had been washed off of them. This discovery ends up getting her pulled into helping dismantle a drug ring with three other teenagers.

Review: I thought this book was really fun to read. I really liked Lumikki as a character, I thought she was great to read about. I liked how her experience from being bullied and avoiding her tormentors helped her in her sleuthing. I thought it was interesting how important scent is to Lumikki and how easily she can recognize individual scents.

The way the story unfolds was really good but I wasn’t too fond of the ending. I feel like instead of being shown the resolution we were told in summation. It didn’t feel to meld well with the rest of the book which was so great up until then. It was sort of strange but it wasn’t off putting enough to make me change my entire mind about the book.

I liked all the little references the characters in the book make to pop culture. I think my favorite was the Twin Peaks comparison Lumikki makes to her life. It was fun but not overwhelming, it felt natural like real life would be. And there were also fairy tale tie ins that were really cool.

I think I would have liked to see more of Elisa and Lumikki developing a friendship. I liked their interactions and I would have loved to see even more. Especially since Lumikki is very much a loner, it would be nice to see her actually call someone else a friend.

The plot was exciting and I really want to read the other two books in this trilogy. I liked that the book was set in Finland, I don’t think I know any other YA that is so it was a definite change. I’d like to read Simukka’s other works as well but it doesn’t look like any of them besides this trilogy has been translated.

Recommendation: If you like exciting crime novels then I would pick this book up. The main character is excellent and multi-faceted.

I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.

Leave a Reply

