review post

Peter Darling review

Peter Darling by Austin Chant

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Peter Pan returns to Neverland after leaving to grow up. He finds that he can’t accept his life being stuck as Wendy so he returns to Neverland. Only he finds in his ten year absence that the island has changed at it his war games are less fun and more dangerous than he remembered.

Review: I received a galley copy of this book for review from NetGalley.

When I heard about this book I was super excited. I love Peter Pan and the concept of a transman Peter who was born Wendy? I was so stoked and started looking out for it to come out. I was ecstatic that I got accepted to review a galley copy.

I love this book, I thought it was really well done. I thought the tone matched that of the original book. I think this is the best Peter Pan continuation novel that I’ve ever read. I don’t think there was anything that I didn’t like about this book. I thought the whole thing was amazing and I would love to reread it.

I was worried at first when I read the summary on goodreads that said that Peter and Hook start to develop feelings for each other. I wasn’t sure it would work very well but the way Chant brings it about was absolutely genius and I loved it and I ended up shipping a ship that if you asked me before I would never have liked the idea of.

I thought the way fairies were presented in this book was really interesting. They were insect looking which isn’t something I would have considered at first. I thought they were really interesting and would have loved to read more about them.

I liked how it seemed like Neverland was a sort of escape or refuge for queer people. I think that’s pretty amazing and I loved it. I’m not sure if that was exactly the intent but that’s how I started to interpret it.

The decision to completely not mention the “Indians” of the original book was really smart. I think more people should do that with their modern retellings of Peter Pan. I think it’s really hard to make that part not offensive.

I really liked this book and I enjoyed reading it so much, I practically devoured it.

Recommendation: I think if you’re a fan of Peter Pan or looking for a well written trans main character that you should pick this book up.

Peter Darling

One thought on “Peter Darling review

Leave a Reply

