review post

Star Wars: Bloodline review

“Sometimes she sounded so jaded, so cynical, even though she had been an idealistic revolutionary in her youth. Maybe a quarter century of politics did that to a person–at least, politics in the way it had been played in the New Republic.”

Star Wars: Bloodline by Claudia Gray

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: library ebook

Summary: Senator Leia Organa has become tired of politics in the New Republic senate. Factions of political ideals make it hard to accomplish anything and she has grown tired of how ineffective they really are. She jumps at a chance to go out on an investigation and becomes entangled in a growing dark power in the galaxy.

Review: This is the first Star Wars book I’ve read that wasn’t part of the EU and is part of the new canon and… I’m not that pleased. The EU had so many adventures with everyone but this, Leia is almost completely separated from her family. The entire book she never hears from Luke or Ben once. She and Han talk but they rarely see each other. Like I knew seeing the movie that everything I knew of after Return of the Jedi changed but it just is baffling and hard for me to grasp. Ultimately, I felt so sad reading it. They worked so hard and they don’t spend time with each other now? That’s such a major bummer.

There is a lot of politics in this book, which is understandable but even being space politics I was bored to tears. It was very hard to get through those bits of the book.

One thing that was cool was at one point in the book there is mention of “at least four genders” being present and one gay couple mentioned in passing. I mean, it’s not a whole lot but then again compared to the older books it really is. I thought making sure to throw in small details like that was important and great to read.

I ultimately did like most of this book, Leia is amazing and one of my favorite characters and I enjoy reading about her. I thought it also lent a bit more understanding to how Leia is in The Force Awakens. I do wish I could have seen her with Ben though. I really want to have at least one scene to see before he became Kylo Ren and could interact with his mother. I think that is something we should be given but, I guess they want to maintain more mystery around him or whatever. I don’t know.

As usual in a Star Wars novel, we were introduced to some great new characters and planets. I thought the underwater criminal port was really cool. I so,Waimea got bored if Leia wasn’t being focused on mainly because these are characters I hadn’t heard of before that she interacts with. There wasn’t really anyone I had prior knowledge of.

Recommendation: If you are a Star Wars fan and enjoy the novels, I think this one is a good one. There are a lot of feelings over Leia’s relationship with her adoptive and biological fathers.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

