review post

The Sniper’s Kiss review

The Sniper’s Kiss by Justine Saracen

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Mia is an American woman working for the White House during WWII, she works in the lend-lease program with Russia to supply them with things they need to fight the war. While working she meets Russian sniper Alexia and there is a spark of attraction between the two women.

Review: I received a galley of this book from NetGalley for review.

Overall, this had a lot of stuff that seems geared towards my interests. Wlw, Russians, WWII…. Pretty much everything I could want. I will say though, I didn’t find the romance very compelling. I was interested in the story and characters but I was t drawn into the romance. I think the problem was that we never really saw Alexia fall for Mia, we were just told it happened.

I did really like the focus of Russian troops in this novel. Most every WWII novel I’ve read has been about Americans or Jewish people in various places in Europe. So this was a fresh look for me.

I liked the plot as well, I thought it was interesting and engaging. There were a couple of slow spots in the novel but not enough to trip me up in the overall reading of it. I liked the characters Mia and Alexia, they were both amazing and great to read about. Most of the POV was of Mia but there were chapters in Alexia’s as well. I wish it had been more equal but at least there was some.

The history aspect seemed pretty accurate but I’m not very knowledgeable about the time period, especially Russia. I did find it odd that Mia admits to so many people that she’s in love with another woman and everyone seems fairly chill about it. That didn’t seem like it would be the case in this period. Then again I get doing that so the story doesn’t get hung up on “homosexuality is a sin womp womp womp”.

Recommendation: Even if I wasn’t totally sold on he love story the book is still really good and I highly recommend it.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

