review post

A Soul to Take review

A Soul to Take by Emily Taylor

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook ARC

Summary: In a world where demons and humans live side by side, it’s considered taboo to sell your soul. Elixia has no choice when her sister is kidnapped by demons but to sell her soul to find and rescue her.

Review: I received a free ARC from REUTS Publications for an honest review.

I really liked the characters of this book, especially Elixia. She was really interesting to read about and I really enjoyed how even while everyone tried to keep her on the dark that she never just accepted that. She also kept fighting even when she came so close to death.

I felt that the world building could have been done a lot better, even now I still don’t fully understand that rules of this world and after the ending I’m even more confused. It was also super frustrating that characters would be name dropped as though the reader should know who was being talked about. I honestly kept checking on goodreads that this wasn’t a sequel because it read as though it was. I felt often like I was missing something.

Even being confused on some of the details, I enjoyed the overall plot. It was exciting and interesting, I cared about what was happening and the characters. It was exciting and the action scenes were pretty great.

I wish I understood more about demons in this world. They’re interesting and seem to be different than a lot of versions of demons that I know. But since Elixia keeps being kept in the dark about a lot of things it’s hard for the reader to know for sure.

I’m very interested in continuing this series, I would like to read what happens next and hopefully see if my questions get answered. I also want to see what happened with Elixia.

I didn’t dig the romance in this. I’m usually way too into age gap ships but this was far too large for me. Not to mention she’s been betrothed to him since she was a child? Creepy. And the year this is set is so confusing, it’s 1867 but everything is futuristic. There are cell phones, computers– everything present day has. It was never explained and just added to my confusion.

Recommendation: Overall this is an enjoyable book, the characters and plot are compelling and entertaining. I think if you’re a fan of urban fantasy that you’ll enjoy this book.

Leave a Reply

