review post

The Raven Boys review

Oh no. Not him. All this time she’d been wondering how Gansey might die and it turned out she was going to strangle him. At Nino’s, the blare of the music had drowned out the finer points of his voice and the odor of garlic had overwhelmed the scent of mint.”

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: paperback

Summary: Blue Sargent’s mother is a psychic, everyone in her family is, except for her. She meets Gansey, Adam, Ronan and Noah– boys from the elite boy’s school in her town. The boys are searching for the lost welsh King Glendower and Blue joins them in their search.

Review: So I’ve been told for a while that I need to read this series and I finally read this book. I have to say the book lived up to the hype everyone was giving it.

I liked all of the characters, especially Blue. For a long while I couldn’t get a feel for Noah as a character but it turned out that was done for a very specific reason and it really was well done, I think.

I thought the depiction of Adam’s abusive home life was written well. Especially considering that Adam is torn about leaving and the book shows how hard it is to leave an abusive home.

I thought the writing was very pretty but didn’t bog down the story with purple prose. I’m also usually not into urban fantasy but I liked this book. There was a lot of great characters and enough fantasy to keep my interest.

I feel like I don’t have a lot to say about this and I’m not sure why. It was good and I’ll be reading the next book of the series.

Recommendation: I think this was a good fantasy book and if you like that genre then it’s worth a try. It lives up to the hype.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

