review post

Death’s Queen review

Death’s Queen by Janeal Falor

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: A nameless assassin escapes her old master who has trained her since she was a child. Wishing to end her life after everything she has been forced to do she drinks from a magical cup that decides the new queen but if you drink from it and you are not the queen you die. She drinks from it and instead if dying as she thought she is declared the new queen.

Review: I received a free copy of this book for review from NetGalley.

I’ll just say because people are going to make this comparison between this book and Throne of Glass– that I much prefer this protagonist. There are times she is irritating but she’s not god awful obnoxious like tog.

I hope this is the beginning of a series rather than a stand alone. I don’t him, it’s strong as a stand alone. It raises too many questions that are not answered. But if it’s a series then that’s fine because they will likely be addressed in coming books.

I do like this book overall. It’s an enjoyable story and I liked reading it. It was a quick read and I would have liked more but overall I really liked reading it. There could have been more to the story, I felt there was just a lot of the queen sitting in her room learning about her country.

It’s a little frustrating that the main character doesn’t have a name until the very end of the book. She’s also very stubborn and unwilling to listen, sometimes it’s things I want to cheer her on for but a good amount of time I just want to be like “Really?? Stop.”

It was a bit anticlimactic at the end and I was hoping that there would be much more. Especially since her old master outs her as an assassin and there doesn’t seem to be any repercussions over that. If there is a second book I’d like to see that addressed, I’d also like to see her actually make changes.

Recommendation: It’s worth a read especially since it isn’t very long.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

