review post

Geekerella review

Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: paperback ARC

Summary: Danielle is a high school senior who lives with her stepmother and stepsisters. Her only solace from the constant berating from her stepfamily is a show she grew up watching with her father when he was alive. A reboot movie is being made and she’s nervous to see how it turns out especially when a teen heartthrob is cast as the lead. In an effort to escape her home situation she enters a cosplay contest where the first place prize is tickets to LA.

Review: I received this book from Quirk Books via a giveaway on Book Riot.

I absolutely love Cinderella, she’s my favorite princess and I’m always eager to read a retelling of Cinderella. I do admit while I was excited I was also nervous. Sometimes books about fandom culture are just too pandering to me. A sort of “look how much I know about fandoms, I shall stuff as much as I can” deal. Also these books rarely show the negative side of fandom which is just unrealistic because fandoms can be a very toxic place. I was glad to see that there was a bit of that in this book, not really dealing with fans and toxic fandoms but more how it can effect the actors. Which was pretty cool because that can actually be a real problem, fans forgetting actors are real people (for an example watch any Supernatural panel. Or how roleplayers will use leaked nude images of their “face claim”. Ick).

I liked how the book was divided into two POV of Elle and Darien. That we got to see them both as they got to know each other through texting. It was great being able to see a relationship develop between them before the ball. I also liked seeing them both eventually taking control of their own lives. I thought the character development was great. Even the side characters had good development.

I’m a big fan of the one stepsister is bullied into treating Cinderella like crap trope. I was glad to see that this book also included it. And I was very pleased with her side romance in the book. Super excellent.

I liked this whole book, it was a really fun read. The romance was really good. I think it was well written for the age of the characters as well, how they both know they’re young and anything could happen. It was actually really refreshing that they’re not sure if they can last as a couple or not. It was a happy ending and kept my interested the whole time. Several times I had a very difficult time putting the book down and often read long past where I planned to for the night.

Recommendation: This is a great book about fandom, romance and a Cinderella retelling. I think if any of those things interest you that you should definitely check it out.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

