review post

Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice review

Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen, Stacy King and Po Tse

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: A manga adaptation of Pride & Prejudice.

Review: I received a copy for review from NetGalley.

This was a fun adaptation of Pride & Prejudice and a great read. Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors so I’m always eager to see different adaptations of my favorite books.

I do like this series of classic literature made into manga. I think I would like to read some more of them, but only if I’ve read the book before. I think there are some good details in these that you may miss if you haven’t read the books.

I didn’t really like the design for Mr. Bennet, his hairstyle and facial hair just kept making me think of Wolverine. I just couldn’t think of him as Mr. Bennet. I also didn’t like how goofy Mr. Collins looked, there was more focus on how dumb he looks rather than how embarrassing and ridiculous he is. All the worst scenes of him showing how ridiculousness, like how he reads dry books for hours, asks which cousin cooked dinner and when he speaks to Darcy without being introduced. He doesn’t have any of the good scenes of the book which was pretty disappointing– he’s just a goofy design and that’s all.

Overall, I did like it. I love Pride & Prejudice in most adaptations and this was no exception.

Recommendation: This is a good manga if you enjoy Pride & Prejudice. Very fun and I recommend it.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

