review post

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children review

“I didn’t go far, just around the perimeter of the neat yard in a slow shuffle, watching the sky, clear now, a billion stars spread across it. Stars, too, were time travelers. How many of those ancient points of light were the last echoes of suns now dead? How many had been born but their light not yet come this far? If all the suns but ours collapsed tonight, how many lifetimes would it take us to realize that we were alone? I had known the sky was full of mysteries– but not until now had I realized how full of them earth was.”

Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

Star rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 stars

Format: paperback

Summary: After the death of his grandfather, Jacob seeks out answers about the stories his grandfather told him about the home he lived in during WWII. He discovers the answers are stranger than he imagined and his grandfather had not been telling tall tales.

Review: I’m not exactly sure what I was expecting from this book, I’d read a lot of reviews saying the same so I sort of went in knowing not to expect whatever. Still, it’s hard not to have some sort of idea. I think the main thing for me is I did not think the protagonist would be from modern times, I thought he would be from an older time.

I liked it for the most part, it was interesting and wasn’t too bad as far as having a male protagonist. It was actually really nice seeing how Riggs allowed Jacob to cry in the book and be in touch with his feelings.

I don’t like how Jacob almost immediately hooks up with his grandpa’s ex-girlfriend. The book even admits how Jacob feels weird about it and says it almost feels like incest. But you know, hot vintage girl trumps that icky feeling I guess. Also she’s so not over his grandpa and you can’t convince me that she isn’t using Jacob as a stand in for him.

Also these children being eighty-some years old but not having matured any? It’s creepy. It honestly is super creepy. Even Claudia from Interview with a Vampire matures even though she is stuck in a child’s body. Years have past but they’re just– the same, almost like they’re ghosts rather than people. It bothers me and I don’t know how to accept it.

The book is pretty good overall, I don’t know if I’m super eager to read the rest of the series. I might if I had the books around but I don’t think I’m going to be jumping up and down trying to get the next one.

Recommendation: While the story is pretty enjoyable and I didn’t have major problems with the book, I don’t get the hype. It’s pretty good but, eh, I would borrow it from the library.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

