review post

The Hellblazer Vol. 1: The Poison Truth (Rebirth) review

The Hellblazer Vol. 1: The Poison Truth (Rebirth) by Simon Oliver

Star rating: ★★☆☆☆ 2/5

Format: ebook galley

Summary: John Constantine returns to England after being cursed and unable to stay in London, Swamp Thing is there and I guess Djinn are the bad guys?

Review: I received a free galley copy from NetGalley for review.

Alright so, I’ve never read DC before and I thought that hey I should try it at least once right? So I saw this available on NetGalley and I’d seen the short lived show on tv and liked it a lot so I thought it would be a good place to try to get into DC comics. I was wrong.

This comic was exceedingly boring, I had to force myself to finish it and it’s not even that long. I just couldn’t seem to get interested in any of the characters or care at all about what was happening. From what I know John Constantine practices magic but in this we only see him do so once (there is another time he pretends for show but he’s just messing around to buy time to escape).

Then there is a subplot with Swamp Thing like??? I don’t understand. We saw more of Swamp Thing than John Constantine in this comic and got a better idea about him as a character. I get Constantine is supposed to be ~mYsTeRiOuS~ but when the star character refuses to give the reader information about their emotions, thoughts, etc. it’s very hard to care about the story.

There doesn’t seem to be much going on, maybe it’s a slow build but I literally don’t see any threat or anything. Yeah, there are Djinn but there has only been one that’s shown up and he just whines about how God loves humans more and throws a dinner party? So like? Ok am I supposed to take him seriously? I just– why? There is no urgency for me. I’m just bored.

There is also weird chemistry between Constantine and this girl Mercury who seems to barely be an adult and he also knew her as a kid and banged her mom? So like if that develops into a thing gross. There’s a lot of bs of characters saying “ooh hanging around Constantine gets you hurt” and literally all I saw him do was smoke cigarettes naked so I don’t see it.

Yeah, I just can’t think of anything I liked, a character or otherwise. I wouldn’t read the rest of this series and I will be hard pressed to pick up another DC comic anytime soon too.

Recommendation: Can’t think of any reason to recommend this. Unless you like reading things that make you blow bored raspberries the whole time, i guess?

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

