review post

Spindle Fire review

Spindle Fire by Lexa Hillyer

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Princess Aurora and her half sister Isabelle have always been close, they even have their own secret language since Aurora cannot speak, her voice being tithed to a faerie for a gift at her christening. A curse placed on her at the same christening takes effect and Aurora falls into and enchanted sleep. Now Isabelle races to save her sister by trying to find her true love to give her a kiss and wake her.

Review: I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher via Edelweiss.

I love fairytale retellings but I am not a fan of the story of Sleeping Beauty very much at all (like the original where she wakes up pregnant because she was raped? No thanks) so I was a little unsure how I would like this book. However, I really enjoyed this twist on the story. It’s probably my favorite Sleeping Beauty telling.

I really liked that the book includes two sets of sisters, the evil faeries and Aurora and Isabelle. I like the stories of both sisters, it kept me engaged and interested in the book. I like that Isabelle is the one to try to search for a way to break Aurora’s curse. And that we get to see the dream world Aurora is in while under the curse and she doesn’t just spend the whole book sleeping.

I love that Isabelle is blind and that Aurora is mute, it’s such a different spin and makes the characters even more unique. I’m not sure how I feel about these things being lost by tithes paid to faeries for gifts, but overall I like it.

There is a love triangle (or I guess two? It’s kinda confusing). But I don’t feel like that is the major focus of the book so I wasn’t super bothered by it. I do think it will have a larger role in the second book though.

I like seeing Aurora discover more about herself in the dream world. It’s great, I think both sisters have great character development. I like pretty much all of the characters in this book and I like the depiction of faeries in this book.

I think this book has a lot of great components and it makes a great retelling. I like books about relationships between sisters and this one doesn’t disappoint. I hope we will see more off the two faerie sisters in the next book.

Recommendation: This is a great new retelling, if you like retellings then I would definitely check this one out.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

