review post

A Court of Wings and Ruin review

Spoilers ahead

“Choice. It had always been about my choice with him. And for others as well. Long before he ever learned the hard way about it.”

A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J Maas

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: ebook

Summary: In the third book of the series, Prythian faces war with Hybern. A war they are unlikely to win. Rhys and Feyre as High Lord and Lady of the Night Court try to rally as many forces as they can to keep their world from ending.

Review: I have loved this series and this book did not disappoint. I heard this was supposed to be the last in the series but now I’m hearing there are plans for other books so I don’t know. If it was the end of the series I thought it was a good send off, if it is not it was still a good addition.

I loved every time Feyre got her revenge on Tamlin, Ianthe or Hybern. Any time someone critiqued the results of her revenge I just wanted to be like “Shh, shh, shh. Let her be.” I did not care a bit, I just wanted her to tear them up and damn the consequences. Also Tamlin whining about how no one trusts him made me laugh so hard. Like dude, you sold everyone out to pull a robbery (yeah, I’m bringing back Jersey Shore slang, Tamlin would fit in well there don’t lie). I mean what did he expect? “Oh Tamlin, you’re the best and we trust you.” No, come on dude. He did try to be decent at the end which shocked me.

I liked that we got to see a lot more same sex relationships in this book. Especially seeing same sex mates. I had been wondering if that was a thing that happened in this world or not and I was super happy to see that it was, though there is some differing of acceptance in the courts over it. I was kind of annoyed that Mor is so territorial over Cassian with Nesta yet she comes out to Feyre as a lesbian. I just wish Maas would have explained her behavior because it reads as though she is attracted to him but that’s apparently not the case. It was just confusing and never addressed.

There are actually a lot of issues that are brought up yet never resolved. Lucien’s father actually being the High Lord of Day Court, but it’s never brought to either’s attention. So I almost felt like why bring it up? There is a lot of tension between Cassian and Nesta and some speculation as to if they will have a mating bond but it’s left fairly open. Also whether Elain will accept the mating bond with Lucien or not doesn’t get addressed. I honestly would rather see Elain with Azriel because I feel like Lucien pushes her to much about what he wants where as Az is attentive to whatever she is in need of. Another thing that was almost addressed but not: why Nesta pushes everyone but Elain away.

A confusing element is that the king and his armies are both referred to as Hybern several times in the book. So it’s difficult at times to work out which one is the person and which is like, the nation I suppose. Reading the final battle scene I had to definitely focus hard which was hard because I was crying 90% of it.

I cried a lot reading this book, actually. Pretty much from the Suriel’s death on I was crying. Although I was giddy when Feyre locked Ianthe in the Weaver’s cottage. But there were a lot of heart-wrenching moments, and not all deaths. The moment that hit me hardest is when the Archeron sister’s father arrived with more troops, leading the fleet on the ship named Nesta. Like god, just killed me. I had to put the book down for a while and cry before I could pick it back up, every other time I could read through it.

I have a lot of feelings about this book and series in general. I loved this book and as much as I love the characters, I thought it would have been a fitting end.

Recommendation: If you’ve enjoyed the previous books then I think you will be happy with this book. It’s great and continues a wonderful series.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

