review post

The Dream Thieves review

“Blue blushed immediately. One of her most hidden and persistent fantasies was an impossible one: living in Monmouth. She’d never really be one of the group, she thought, as long as she was living here at 300 Fox Way. She’d never really be one of them as long as she wasn’t an Aglionby student. Which meant she’d never really be one of them as long as she was a girl.”

The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: paperback

Summary: The second book in The Raven Cycle, the ley line has been awakened and Cabeswater has disappeared. Ronan tells the others about his ability to pull objects from his dreams and struggles to learn control of his powers.

Review: I liked the second book of this series. I did have my attention wander often while reading but I’m still not sure if that’s the book or just me.

I like that we got to see a lot more of Ronan and Noah in this book, but I swear to god my sweet baby angel Noah needs to stop disappearing halfway through the books. My favorite moment is when he and Ronan are goofing off throwing things out the window and then Noah suddenly comes in through the front door indignant because Ronan threw him out the window. I liked that he and Blue kissed and while it was awkward because they’re mainly just friends, but it helped Blue with her anxiety over kissing anyone since Noah can’t die. I thought the scene was cute.

I was really annoyed with Adam most of this book, in the first one he was so adorable but in this one he’s just angry at everyone and about everything. I did like when Blue confronted him and was like you never treat me like an actual friend, because it is so true. I feel like she should have been more honest with him about her feelings before but I understand why she kept putting it off.

Kinda weird that Blue’s mother was like, I’m gonna go date this hit man and she and her friends acted like it was silly and a joke half the time. I’m just so confused. I wish I understood why Blue was so angry and jealous of Orla when she went out on the lake with Blue and the boys. It just seemed dumb because there wasn’t much context given besides Blue was just mad.

The whole pulling people out of dreams things fucked me up. I mean, we are shown he can take out living creatures with Chainsaw and the night terrors but I somehow never connected that with humans. Also everything with Kavinsky was weird and he made me very uncomfortable. (Also wtf was up with sending Gansey a dick pic??) It seems like a lot of Stiefvater’s antagonists create their own demise.

Still, it was a good read and I’m excited to read the next one.

Recommendation: Solid second book, if you like the first I definitely recommend picking this one up.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

