review post

The Gauntlet review

The Gauntlet by Megan Shepherd

Star rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: In the third and final book of her series, Cora is determined to run the gauntlet and help humans become acknowledged as an intelligent species.

Review: I received a free copy of this book for review from Edelweiss.

I was pretty disappointed with this book. I liked the first two books of this series and this one just didn’t have the same appeal of the others. There wasn’t as much connection to the characters in this, it felt super flat. I guess it didn’t help I spent the first half of the book pouting that Lucky was dead.

There were a lot of plot holes in this book that stood out. Particularly the “cheat” to the gauntlet. Cassian made it sound as though he had discussed cheating with Bonebreak and Firemage but he arrived at the last second before the gauntlet began. So how could he have told them that Cora’s greatest fear was water so they could replace the water source with stasis fluid?

I’ve always been kinda meh about the romance between Cora and Cassian, it just doesn’t have much of anything going for me. This book did not improve that at all, especially since I’m pretty sure Lucky was only killed to remove him as competition. I really hated anytime they were romantic.

I thought it was a terrible ending, it didn’t feel like it really left the reader with any closure. There were a lot of deaths and they just didn’t seem to have any of the weight or meaning. It was really disappointing because I really was looking forward to this book.

Recommendation: I hate to say skip the end book of a series but it honestly didn’t bring me any closure to the series.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

