review post

Roses review

Roses by Melinda Michaels

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Poppy’s grandmother is found murdered and the police believe Poppy was the actual intended target. She’s put under the protective care of Detective Owen Pierce, who she keeps butting heads with. Both Poppy and Owen are descendants of fairytale characters, or at least the real people the stories were based upon.

Review: I received a free ARC copy of this book from REUTS Publishing for an honest review.

I had a lot of fun reading this book, I was worried at first because mysteries with cops as a main character can be hit or miss for me but this was definitely a hit. It is the second book in a series and I did not read the first book prior, luckily it doesn’t seem to have been totally necessary. I’m sure I could benefit from reading the first book, and I do want to read it eventually, but not having read it before did not hamper my enjoyment of this book in any way.

I thought the fact that they were descended from fairytale characters was really interesting. I liked how it worked into the modern world setting, that magic is something that had once existed but no longer does. I do wish I understood the wish part of of the world, it was a bit confusing and I didn’t totally understand the wish between Poppy’s grandmother and her sisters. It seemed like Owen’s grandmother knew what was going on, so I’m curious why she didn’t tell Poppy or Owen so that they knew who was trying to kill her.

I liked the characters a lot, I felt like Owen and Poppy could be a bit too antagonistic towards each other. I get it was a high stress situation but it sometimes felt like a bit much. It didn’t get in the way of enjoying the romance though.

I wish that we knew what happened in California with Owen, it isn’t gone into at all. All we know is he cut his leg breaking and entering and was arrested for that. No idea what happened with the girl he was supposed to save, as it was such a big plot point to the book I would have thought we would find out what went on then. Another thing that was not answered is who knocked Poppy out in the library and why. If it was her cousin, wouldn’t he have just killed her then? I’m very confused on that point.

Overall this was an enjoyable book. I am interested in reading the first book of this series and any other books that follow.

Recommendation: If you like mysteries and fairy tales I think this is a good book to check out. It’s got a great story and interesting characters. I would suggest you start with the first book because it probably gives more setup.

AMAZON

Leave a Reply

