review post

The Art of the Affair review

The Art of the Affair: An Illustrated History of Love, Sex, and Artistic Influence by Catherine Lacey and Forsyth Harmon

Star rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 stars

Format: hardback

Summary: This is a short look at connections between artists, most romantic but quite a few platonic as well.

Review: I received a free copy of this book from Goodreads.

I wasn’t sure what I was expecting of this book but it was a bit strange. The way it is written is a lot of short blurbs and dotted lines connecting artists. It’s a bit rambling and non-linear, sometimes making it hard to follow. Some of the people I didn’t know but there was usually enough in the text to figure out what they did.

I was glad to see how the authors didn’t shy away from including LGBT+ people and relationships. There were a lot of bisexual people I hadn’t been aware of before, which was pretty cool. I wish that the authors would have gone more into the sources where they found evidence of some of them really would have been nice.

It felt more like a pamphlet than anything else. The information is thrown at you in small chunks like you would find in an informational pamphlet. I was really hoping for more. I didn’t want these people’s life stories but more than a couple sentences would have really boosted this book for me.

I liked the book, it was interesting but it really left me wanting much more. I didn’t really feel satisfied by this book.

Recommendation: This is a good bathroom book, it’s interesting but not long. Very reader’s digest feel.

AMAZON

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a Reply

