review post

Breakwater review

Breakwater by Catherine Jones Payne

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Jade, a mermaid, is excited for her upcoming wedding to Captain Tor. Until she finds him holding the dead body of a naiad girl he has just murdered. Her decision to take him to the authorities creates a bigger scandal than she could have imagined. Already tense relations between the mer and naiads is pushed even further after this incident.

Review: I received an egalley copy of this book for review from NetGalley.

I really really liked this book. I think the world was set up nice and I liked the main character. She doesn’t always make the right decisions and has some real flaws. I was completely interested during the whole book. It was exciting and engaging.

I liked how it didn’t end with a happily ever after, that Jade chooses duty over love. I thought that was a great decision and definitely don’t see that a lot in books so I liked it. It ended on a cliffhanger and I feel there will be a chance for HEA in the future.

I thought the world building was great. There was just enough to immerse you in the world but it wasn’t overwhelming and didn’t end up weighing the novel down. There was a lot of small details that kept you in the world. Like when a character would be in a room it said things like float instead of stand. It was small but it really cemented it.

I liked the politics of this world, how Jade knows a bit but not a lot of what is going on. It felt realistic. I liked how realistic it felt when her friends abandoned her over a scandal. There was so much small and big grief in this book that it just felt really real to me. Not over the top but just like this is life and a really shitty situation.

I don’t read a lot of mermaid novels so requesting this was me taking a gamble. I’m super happy I took that gamble. I really enjoyed this book and nothing really stands out to me that I didn’t like. I just thought it was great all around.

Recommendation: I think this is a really cool mermaid book. I’d check it out if you’re into fantasy, even if you’re unsure about the mermaid element.

AMAZON

BOOK DEPOSITORY

One thought on “Breakwater review

Leave a Reply

