review post

The Diviners review

“There is nothing more terrifying than the absoluteness of one who believes he’s right.”

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: library eaudiobook

Summary: After causing a scandal by using her divining power while drunk at a party, Evie is sent from her home in Ohio to live with her uncle in New York. Her uncle runs a museum that focuses on all things supernatural in nature. When he’s called on to help with a series of murders, Evie lends her powers to help to solve the case, in between partying the night away in speakeasies of course.

Review: I wasn’t as impressed with this book as I have been with other works I’ve read of Libba Bray’s. It was still good but her other books are definitely better.

I had a hard time with some of the voices and accents the voice actor narrating the story used for the characters. I almost gave up on listening to the audiobook but I liked the story so I stuck around. I think the voice that bugged me the most was Theta, she’s 17 but the voice actor makes her sound like she’s 40. This isn’t really a fault of the writing but it did distract me.

The book is set in the twenties which is an era I really enjoyed. However it felt sometimes the book was super heavy with slang, which is can be good but this often felt like reading a list off google of twenties slang. Sometimes it just felt like Bray was going down one of those lists and adding her story around it. I’m all for having a feel of the era but it was just so much. It worked in places but when it was every other thing then it was just over the top.

I liked how many characters have supernatural powers, it was pretty cool. I liked how most of the characters interacted with each other. I love the romance between Memphis and Theta, they’re both adorable together and I’d like to see future books explore the fact that they both have the same dream. I didn’t like the romance between Evie and Jericho for several reasons. One, he’s just a really boring, flat character. Two, Evie’s best friend Mabel has had a massive thing for Jericho and Evie shrugs it off once she decides she likes Jericho, after spending over half the book trying to pair the two. I just thought it was a terrible thing to do as a supposed friend. If Evie had approached Mabel and talked to her about how Jericho was showing interest in her and that she might be returning those feelings, then maybe. But she just decided Mabel’s feelings didn’t matter.

The plot was really good. I liked the mystery and the murders. They were very creepy and well done, any time with “Naughty John” was just super creepy. I loved it. I loved the supernatural aspect, I loved how diverse the book is. There is a lot that works well in this book so I think I will read the rest of the series.

Recommendation: I feel this book is probably better as a print book than an audiobook, I’d pick up a physical copy myself. Other than that, if you like supernatural mysteries then check it out. Definitely worth a read.

AMAZON

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a Reply

