review post

Jackaby review

“It wasn’t that I did not believe in ghosts; it was that I believed in them in the same noncommittal way that I believed in giant squids or lucky coins or Belgium. They were things that probably existed, but I had never given any occasion to really care one way or another.”

Jackaby by William Ritter

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: library eaudiobook

Summary: Abigail Rook arrives in New Fiddleham looking for a job and hopefully adventure. She finds both in R. F. Jackaby, a detective specializing in the supernatural. Abigail gets swept up in trying to solve a string of murders that Jackaby believes to be supernatural in nature.

Review: I liked this book, I liked it as an audiobook as well. I think it really works in the audiobook format. The description on Goodreads claims his book is a combo of Sherlock Holmes and Doctor who and I think that’s wrong. It’s more Sherlock and Supernatural. There are no aliens or time travel, it’s all supernatural and folk lore from around the world. It’s Supernatural dude, come on. There’s nothing Doctor Who about this. But that’s marketing, I guess.

I liked the characters, every single one is unique and has depth. I liked Abigail, she was a good protagonist, interesting and compelling. I like her interact with Jackaby, at first I was almost hoping for a romance between him and Abigail but as they interacted more I decided I don’t think it work at all and their current relationship is great. I thought Abigail and Charlie ended up being adorable and I would love to see more of them together. My favorite character by far was Jenny, I really want to know more about her, she’s great and I love her.

I liked the story a lot, I did see the two biggest twists coming. In no way, however, did this take away from my enjoyment of the book and overall story. It was still interesting and engaging. I was more interested in how the characters handled it than the twists themselves. I’m really eager to read the other books in the series. I really want to see more of Abigail and Charlie’s relationship.

I did feel like it was shorter than I expected. I was kind of surprised when it was over. I don’t know if it really was that short or if I just got that wrapped up in it I didn’t realize. It’s so hard to tell when you’re listening to an audiobook. I don’t think there is anything that really needed to be expanded upon though, maybe Jenny and her past but that’s all I could possibly think of.

Recommendation: I think if you like folk lore and supernatural elements plus detective stories that this is something you should check out. I think it’s easy to figure the twists out so if that sort of thing will bother you then I would consider that when you’re thinking about reading it.

AMAZON

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a Reply

