review post

Mortal Heart review

“And there it is. The threat I have lived with my entire life. If I am not good enough, kind enough, thoughtful enough, obedient enough, I will be cast from my home like a stunted fish from a fisherman’s net.”

Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: library eaudiobook

Summary: Annith has watched her sisters leave the convent for missions while she is left there even though she has years of experience and is one of the most talented there. Her fears that she will never leave begin to look like her sad reality when the abbess decides that Annith is to be the new seeress. Angry and upset that all of her training to be an assassin will go wasted, Annith leaves the convent to see if she can change the abbess’s mind.

Review: I have really enjoyed this series, there are two more books due to come out starting next year and I’ll be reading those as well. I liked this book better than the first book but overall I think the second in the series is my favorite.

I thought Annith’s story was great, a good change from Ismae and Sybella I didn’t think it could be so unique from the other two stories. I liked the romance of this book, I’ve liked the romance of all the books. This one surprised me the most of the series, I mean I saw the chemistry but other aspects of the romance.

I suspected some of the secrets revealed in this book and I was glad to see my suspicious nature towards the abbess was justified. She was just as shady as I thought. The continuation of Duchess Anne’s story was great as well. I’m happy with how that all ended. I do want to know more about Ismae, Sybella and Annith, I hope the next books have a good bit about them.

There’s not much I can say about this book without giving away some of the big things of the book which I don’t want to do. It was a fun read and I really liked the things brought into the book. I like that in this one we got to see much more of the gods, I really like the mythology of this world, it’s really fascinating.

There were several times the pace dragged a bit and it felt long at times. I’m glad I listened to the audiobook so it was easier to plow through those parts. I like that each of the girls have had their own struggles, Ismae and Sybella always believed Annith to have led a cushy life at the convent compared to them but she had a pretty abusive childhood.

Recommendation: The third book is a great continuation of the series, it goes more into the gods which was one of my favorite things about this series.

AMAZON

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a Reply

