review post

The Star-Touched Queen review

“I hadn’t known until now, but I saw it, felt it. I came here for her. Because it didn’t matter whether I had lived in another realm for years that I thought were mere days. It didn’t matter that I had tasted fairy fruit, fallen in love and broken a heart. Some bonds were impervious to all manner of experience. And the truth was that, no matter what happened, we were sisters.”

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: library eaudiobook

Summary: Maya is born with a horoscope that ties her intimately to death. Even though she is the daughter of a Raja she is shunned by most of the court and harem out of superstitious fear. When her father decides it is time for her to be married she chooses a mysterious stranger named Amar who takes her to his magical kingdom and Maya works to unravel the mysteries around him.

Review: I really enjoyed this book. The imagery was so beautiful and well written, very pretty and poetic. The character of Maya was great and I loved reading about her.

Even though I’m rating it five stars, I didn’t really buy the romance. I don’t know, it feels like Maya realizes she has a past life but doesn’t reconcile the two. And she doesn’t seem to fall in love with Amar as herself, she just remembers her past life where she was in love with him. But both lives she has major trust issues with him so I don’t really know it really didn’t sell the romance to me. But everything else about the story I really liked.

I wish it was explained why so much time passed in the human world with her being there for only a few weeks but at home it had been a whole decade. It’s never really explained at all which was frustrating while reading. I also really wanted to know more about her family, it was really interesting dynamic and I feel we just didn’t get enough.

I liked the Indian myths that were tied into this book. I don’t have a lot of reference for them but it was still really cool. It was a great change because I can’t think of any other books like this, most books I know based on myths focus on Greek.

I liked the demon horse Kamala so much, she was one of my favorite characters. She was really entertaining. I listened to the audiobook of this and the narrator did a really good job of bringing this book to life.

Recommendation: I would recommend this book if you like myth based books, even if you don’t know any Indian myths. I think it is also enjoyable if you don’t usually like myth books. It’s also a stand-alone which I always have a hard time finding. Everything I pick up seems to be a series.

BOOK DEPOSITORY

2 thoughts on “The Star-Touched Queen review

Leave a Reply

