review post

The Goblins of Bellwater review

The Goblins of Bellwater by Molly Ringle

Star rating: ★★★★ ☆ 4/5 stars

Format: ebook galley

Summary: Kit is the human liaison for a tribe of goblins, an unpleasant job where he must appease them with a monthly tribute of gold. If he comes up short then they start to make dangerous mischief.

Review: I received an advanced copy of this book for free from NetGalley. (Although it is long been out at this point).

This book took me a long time to read but that is in no way a reflection of the story, I was just having a hard time with any reading. The story was actually riveting and as I came out of my funk I read it quickly wanting to devour it.

I really liked this book, I thought the goblins were great, I love malevolent fae. I liked the stipulations of the curse the goblins put on Skye, how they prevented her from talking about the curse and the rest. Skye tries to break it herself by kissing Grady and I thought it was great, of course it didn’t work and complicated matters further by cursing him as well. I loved the “local” fae as well and how they interacted.

One thing that bothered me is that Kit and Livy act way older than early twenties, they’re more like early thirties in my opinion. It bugged me a bit while reading it because Kit acted like he’d been such an old bachelor and like… He’s not even twenty-five, maybe chill dude? The characters just acted way older than their actual age and i kept forgetting that they actually weren’t in their thirties.

The relationships were really interesting. I liked how After the curse is broken that Grady and Skye are unsure if they actually have a real relationship or if it was all created by the curse. I liked how they had to figure that out and it wasn’t an instant happily ever after deal. That was really nice to see.

Recommendation: I felt this was a great contemporary book about the fae. This year seems to be a good year for goblin stories (see also Wintersong). This isn’t YA in my opinion, more NA so that is a cool change too. I’d suggest checking this out if you like fae.

BOOK DEPOSITORY

2 thoughts on “The Goblins of Bellwater review

  1. Wonderfully written review! I’m about halfway through this ARC right now and I definitely see what you mean about Kit and Livy. It’s really hard for me to grasp onto the fact that they’re only in their twenties. It just seems like a bizarre sort of set up going on. On the other hand, I really like the representation of the goblins and the premise as a whole.
    Anyways, I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

