Sharp Objects review

“As a child, I don’t remember ever telling Adorable my favorite color, or what I’d like to name my daughter when I grew up. I don’t think she ever knew my favorite dish, and I certainly never padded down to her room in the early-morning hours, tears from nightmares. I always feel sad for the girl I was, because it never occurred to me that my mother might comfort me.”

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn

Star rating: ★★★☆☆ 3/5 stars

Format: paperback

Summary: Camille must return to her childhood home to report on two murders for her newspaper. Investigating the two dead girls leads Camille to struggle with her mother and revisit memories she’d much rather forget.

Review: This book took a bit for me to get into, the main character was a very closed off narrator for a good portion of the book. Once she started opening up in the narrative it was easier to get into. While this book kept surprising me with twist after twist, it wasn’t one of my favorite thrillers. It was just lacking something and I’m not sure what.

Part of it might have been the main character, she just did a whole lot that made me raise my eyebrows and squint like “really lady?” She’s in her thirties yet she goes and parties with her thirteen year old sister, taking drugs and drinking. What the hell? Who does that shit? If my younger siblings were trying to talk me into going to that kind of party I’d drag their ass home.

The family was so dysfunctional, every time I thought they couldn’t get any worse, they did. Like holy moly. It was off the charts. And of course reading about munchausen by proxy made me think of that recent case of Gypsy and DeeDee Blanchard, which in turn made me wish I was reading a book about them rather than this. The family is this book is all shades of fucked up.

It’s not a bad read, definitely did not hate it but I didn’t love it either. I wasn’t able to connect to Camille or any of the characters. The romance turns stale really fast form me, halfway through their first date even. There was nothing wrong with the book that I can pinpoint but I just wasn’t digging it as much as I have others. Which is surprising because I liked Flynn’s other book Gone Girl a lot. This one just wasn’t as good.

Recommendation: There are a good amount of twists to this book so it’s not a waste of time to read. There are a lot of interesting themes that run throughout it, it just wasn’t my thing apparently.

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a comment