Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder review

Thor, Vol. 1: The Goddess of Thunder by Jason Aaron

Star Rating: ★★★★★ 5/5 stars

Format: library graphic novel

Summary: When Thor becomes unworthy of Mjolnir, there is no one to wield the hammer. Until a mysterious woman picks up the hammer and becomes the new Thor.

Review: So I already know some of the spoilers from this series but I still wanted to read the actual story for myself. I really enjoyed it, I want to read more of this series.

Odin is just a huge dick in this, Thor is a bit of one himself when he first encounters the goddess of thunder but he comes around and realizes she is the rightful wielder of the has met and defends her right as well. But Odin needs his ass beat, preferably by Freyja. Like he left and now expects her to just be chill with it and give him back power? I don’t think so my dude.

I like the inner dialogue of Thor and herself, it’s interesting to see how she’s not sure how she became the wielder of Mjolnir. And I like that Freyja and formerThor both support her. It’s very confusing to talk about because former Thor has insisted not to be called Thor anymore but he hasn’t given them an alternative so like. What the heck do I call you dude? Is this some sort of Prince situation, the Asgardian formerly known as Thor? Like? Help me out.

I like the storyline as confusing as the name situation is there. I’m very interested in what happens both on earth with the new Thor and on Asgardia as well. I think new Thor needs so,e friends for herself though, like she needs to be able to talk to someone. Old Thor has all of Asgardia to mope to, she needs someone as well.

The art is nice, I like Thor’s design. Her helmet is my favorite part but the whole design is great.

The villains so far are fine but can we get Amora in here? Like she’s probably the best villain Thor has. Plus she has killer fashion. Male kit his fine but like, yawn evil elf, or whatever. Amora Is far better.

Recommendation: I think this is great, I’m way more into female heroes anyways so giving us a female Thor is right up my alley. If you like Thor I think this is something to check out.

BOOK DEPOSITORY

Leave a comment